THE BEST Lemon Poppyseed Muffins

Although I will never claim to be an excellent baker, I have been getting the hang of it lately. I used to be terrible. Before Thanksgiving I attempted to make a flourless chocolate cake and that was a complete disaster. I picked the first recipe I saw on pinterest and it used a “water bath,” not that I even had a clue what that was. The Shortened version of this story is that I ended up with hot water spilt all over my oven and a very soggy cake that was burnt on the outside and liquid in the middle, and my confidence with baking was zero. I’ve been practicing with some less ambitious muffin recipes lately and I believe I’ve perfected my lemon poppyseed muffin recipe enough to share it with you all!img_1515

After a little research, I decided to substitute Greek yogurt for the oil, large amount of butter, or milk that many recipes use. I found that it made the muffins a bit more moist and fluffy. Another benefit is that it cuts out a lot of the fat and has a higher protein content. It’s a win win here! I also whipped up a little cream cheese and lemon frosting to go on top because lets be real, who doesn’t love frosting! img_1516img_1517

Lemon Poppyseed Muffins

Yield: 12 muffins    Prep time: 20 mins    Cook time: 15 mins

Ingredients:

Muffins:

  • 1 and 1/3 cups all purpose flour
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 4 tbs butter, softened
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • zest of 1 large lemon
  • 1 tbs fresh lemon juice
  • 3/4 cup non-fat Greek yogurt
  • 1 tbs poppyseeds

Icing:

  • 2 tbs melted butter
  • 2oz cream cheese, softened
  • 3 cups powdered sugar
  • 2 tsp fresh lemon juice

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 450 degrees F. Grease muffin tin, or put 12 baking cups into tin.
  2. In a bowl, combine flour, baking soda, and salt.
  3. In a separate mixing bowl, combine butter, sugar, eggs, vanilla, lemon zest, lemon juice, and greek yogurt. Mix with either a stand mixer or hand mixer until creamy and well combined. Then add dry ingredients and combine again. Add poppyseed and mix in.
  4. Fill muffin tins 2/3 full with your batter. Bake for 13-16 minutes. To test doneness, insert a toothpick into muffin. If it comes out clean, your muffins are ready. If it doesn’t, bake a little longer and try again.
  5. Allow to cool while you make your icing.
  6. To make icing mix melted butter and cream cheese with a mixer until fluffy. Then Add your powdered sugar and lemon juice and mix again. Drizzle icing over muffins and enjoy!
One thought on “THE BEST Lemon Poppyseed Muffins

Leave a Reply

