A review of the Craverie Cafe in Kohler, WI.

Last Monday afternoon I took a break from my errand running to have bite to eat at the local cafe in Kohler, The Craverie. It’s conveniently located in the Woodlake Market area so I did a little extra shopping after my lunch! (;

Upon entering The Craverie, It is definitely a beautiful space. Crystal chandeliers, a giant, ornate mirror (perfect for teenage girls to “selfie” in), and the most delicious looking chocolate displays I think I’ve ever seen! I’ll have to try the chocolate next time I’m in! The menu is posted on a pretty board up by the counter. It’s short, sweet, and simple. Not too overwhelming at all. I ordered a Vanilla French Soda, and their half sandwich, half salad combo with the Black Forest ham and brie panini, and a roasted vegetable salad. I chose a seat at one of the tables that had a soft comfy bench, but you can also sit by the windows looking out onto the water by a big fireplace as well. Very romantic and cozy.

img_1536

There was one server that I could see working, and she was very quick getting everything out. I had all of my food within 10 minutes. Starting with my French Soda, I loved everything about it. This was my first time trying something like this and I think I’m in love. I’ve found myself craving that particular beverage throughout the past week! Fizzy, yet so sweet, almost like a cream soda without the icky feeling of drinking real soda!

When the server brought my plate out, my first impression was that the presentation of the food was lacking compared to my experience in other Kohler Company restaurants. But oh, did that panini smell good. I went for that first. The bread was the perfect level of toasty-ness, and the Black Forest ham had a perfect, juicy, smokey flavor to it. The ham paired wonderfully with the brie cheese, and the sweet jam they dressed it with. Probably one of the top 10 panini I’ve ever eaten! I wish I would’ve just ordered a whole one, to be honest!

Next up was the Roasted Vegetable salad. The first thing I noticed was how wilted the salad greens were. Almost like they’d been sitting in a bag or under a heat lamp for far too long. The roasted vegetables the salad came with were mushrooms, and peppers mainly, and it was served with a citrusy vinaigrette dressing. The dressing was so flavorful and bright, the roasted vegetables were delicious, but I couldn’t get over the wilted, dirty looking lettuce. I ended up only having a few bites of my salad before deciding I was over it.

Overall, I would say I had a positive experience at The Craverie Cafe last Monday. Price-wise I think they were definitely moderate especially for Kohler. For my full meal I paid about $22 before tip. Next time I think I will skip the salads though, and order a whole panini. I do HAVE to stop back in to try some of those beautiful chocolates though!

Leave a Reply

